photokaboom

Learn Photography

Lightroom > More >

Copy/Paste Settings

&

Sync Settings/Metadata

Which One?

You can edit a photograph—can copy the settings—and can paste them to another single photograph.

Go to Copy/Paste Settings.

You can edit a photograph—can sync the settings—with many other photographs.

Go to Sync Metadata & Sync Settings.

Copy/Paste Settings

In the Develop module, there are two methods.

Method #1 - Copy/Paste

1) Edit one of the photographs.

2) Click the Copy button in the lower-left corner of your screen.

The Copy Settings window opens.

3) Select the settings that you want to copy and click Copy.

4) In the Filmstrip at the bottom of your screen, click on another preview.

5) Click the Paste button.

The editing settings are copied to the photograph.

Method #2 - Previous

1) Edit a photograph.

2) In the Filmstrip at the bottom of your screen, click on another preview.

3) Click the Previous button in the lower-right corner of your screen.

If you don't see the Previous button—more than one preview is selected.

Press Ctrl + d to deselect all previews.

Then, click on a preview.

All of the settings from the photograph you edited are copied to the second photograph.

The Copy Settings window—where you select what to copy—doesn't open.

When you click Previous—all of the settings are copied and pasted.

Library Module

You can copy and paste settings to many photographs—in the Library module.

1) Right click on a preview or go to Photo at the top of your screen.

2) Select Develop Settings > Copy Settings.

3) Select what you want to copy in the Copy Settings window.

4) Select previews in Grid view or in the Filmstrip at the bottom of your screen.

5) Select Develop Settings > Paste Settings.

Sync the Settings

There are two variations of the Sync Setting button.

Variation #1 - Edit & Then Sync

You can edit a photograph—and can then choose which photographs to sync.

Do the following.

1) Edit a photograph.

This is the active photograph.

2) In the Filmstrip at the bottom of your screen, select other previews.

Press and hold down the Ctrl key (Windows) or the Cmd key (Mac), and click on other previews.

When more than one preview is selected in the Filmstrip, the Previous button changes into the Sync button.

3) Click the Sync button in the lower-right corner of your screen.

The Synchronize Settings window opens.

4) Select the settings that you want to copy and click Synchronize.

The settings are applied to the selected photographs.

Library Module

You can also do the above in the Library module by clicking the Sync Settings button.

Variation #2 - Edit & Sync in Unison

You can also edit multiple photographs at the same time.

Do the following.

1) In the Filmstrip at the bottom of your screen, select several previews.

Press and hold down the Ctrl key (Windows) or the Cmd key (Mac), and click on other previews.

When more than one preview is selected in the Filmstrip, the Previous button changes into the Sync button.

2) Click the tiny on/off icon next to the Sync button in the lower-right corner of your screen.

This changes the Sync button to Auto Sync.

q

Auto Sync

3) Edit the photographs.

Sync the Metadata

Syncing the metadata is similar to syncing the editing settings, as explained below.

Go to the Library module and click the Sync button instead of the Sync Settings button.

Reminder

When you're done, you can deselect all of the photographs by pressing Ctrl + d (Windows) or Cmd + d (Mac).